top of page

Author Interview: Lloyd Vancil

JC – How have your experiences as a veteran helped you as a writer?

LV-Because I was in the service for most of ten years, I’ve traveled all over the world. I’ve seen strange animals and things I couldn’t have imagined otherwise. I spent time in the jungles and dusty “wild west” of the Philippines in the early 70’s. Southern Europe, Northern Africa, and Japan all inform my writing.

JC – What are some other hobbies or interests you enjoy outside of writing?

LV- Ham radio, I hold an extra class license which is the highest class available. I play computer games and have been Guild master for one of the most stable guilds in Blizzard’s World of Warcraft for many years. Other games I enjoy are Eve-online and Starcraft. I try to make beautiful things from wood.

JC – When it comes to writing, do you plan everything or just write as it comes to you? Do you have a routine or write whenever you feel the urge?

LV- I start out with a plan but the creative process or my imagination shoulders my best plans aside and I find myself asking, “Where the hell did that come from?” Often, those things are my best stuff.

JC – What books, stories, and authors inspire you?

LV- Anything written by Heinlein, Niven, King, Koontz, Howard and Louis L’Amor. Recently, Andy Weir’s “The Martian” and Jim Butcher’s series along with alternate histories from Taylor Anderson and Harry Turtledove.

JC – Tell us about the inspiration for your story, “Hell’s Deep.”

LV-I was thinking about the various theories and wild speculations around “The Face” and what will happen when a man or a robot finally gets there. Will “they” move to “cover it up?” Why would they? How would they?

JC – Why did you choose to become an indie publisher?

LV- Whoo. That’s a long story. Ive been told, by publishers, that my stories are too complex, hold too many ideas, and because of that they earn the dreaded “not what we are looking for at this time.” As an independent it’s my choice and I’ll let the readers decide if they like it.

____

Lloyd Vancil is a Vietnam veteran, father of three wonderful children, and an independent publisher with two novellas, a collection of short stories, and an anthology of poetry and essays available on line. He won an award for flash fiction, had a technical article published in a national magazine, and edited and published The Listening Post newsletter for the Vietnam Veterans of Ventura County for several years. His loving wife of forty-three years helps to edit and proofread the stories and encourages his flights of fancy. He is often accompanied by a large red parrot, Scarlett O’feathers.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page