top of page

Author Interview with Laura K. Luttrell


JC – You’re a busy woman. How do you find time to write?

LL - The phrase finding time implies that I have somehow lost time somewhere - ooh, that's another story idea, isn't it? Sorry, I'm easily sidetracked. My writing process is ponderous at worst and very slow at best. The only reason I manage to produce anything at all is that my brain works on story ideas constantly in the background. When a story idea finally starts to gain traction and make sense, I feel compelled to start writing. A good friend of mine reminded me that we all have time to do what we want, it's just a matter of prioritization. So, when my story is a priority, I write!

JC – What are some of your hobbies or interests?

LL - Unfortunately, I am interested in almost everything. Except for math. I do not have a math brain, which has prevented me from becoming a mad scientist, no doubt. I read anything and everything that interests me (see previous comment) but prefer science fiction and fantasy. I love music, I sing, write songs, play the viola and ukelele and whatever percussive instrument those around me allow. I make rag rugs, crochet afghans, decorate for parties, make mosaics out of everything...you get the picture. I love to create things. I also enjoy gardening. This year's theme is sunflowers.

JC – What is your method of generating ideas and starting stories? Do you need an outline or do you just start writing?

LL - I never have a problem with generating ideas, ideas are everywhere (see first line of first answer). Starting stories is exciting, that's always the easy part, for me. I usually just start writing and see where my ideas take me and hope that my brain will regurgitate all the stuff it's been working on for months.

JC – What books, stories, and authors inspire you?

LL - Lately I've been revisiting some of my old favorites, such as Guy Gavriel Kay. That guy writes some great fantasy. I think Charles Stross's Laundry files series is hysterical. I've been waiting for David Gerrold to finish his Chtorr series for over 20 years. Harlan Ellison is an amazing writer. Heinlein was my first true love. Stephen King is great storyteller. Cory Doctorow's book, "Makers", changed the way I looked at technology forever. Neil Stephenson is a GENIUS. Jim Butcher has entertained me to no end. You get the picture. I could go on for a long time, but will end with this: I can't wait for Jan Cannon's YA series to be published, it is going to be epic!

JC – Your story, “Exit Interview,” is written in second person. Why did you make that style choice?

LL - It just seemed right. Each story has a voice of its own and that's where it landed.

JC – Do you have any advice for writers wanting to get published?

LL - Hone your craft. Do your homework. Write the best darn story you can, revise it till it sings, then shop it around. Don't get in a hurry, make sure it's right before you send it out. If it's your baby, make sure it's clothed, fed and well rested before you send it out into the cruel world. It will have a better chance for survival if you do.

Laura K. Luttrell has owned several small businesses, raised two children, and survived a short military career. She voraciously reads anything she can get her hands on from cereal boxes to technical manuals but prefers science fiction and fantasy. Currently, she is writing a YA fantasy novel about a boy whose mentally-ill mother can only be cured if he can master his ability to control his own emotions.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page