top of page

Author Interview: William Cureton


JC – What inspired you to start writing?

WC - I always loved reading. Things I read would stick in my head and mix together, and eventually I just had to write the ideas down. Afterall, I didn't want my head to pop.

JC – What are some of your other interests?

WC - Watching TV and playing games, mostly.

JC – How do you start writing on a story? How do you come up with ideas? Do you have a routine or write whenever you have an opportunity?

WC - I generally start writing longer stories with a short prologue, which can sometimes stand on its own, to test out ideas. Short stories I just write when inspired. Most of them are drawn from and inspired by things I read or see, and others just hit me like a proverbial sledgehammer. I only write when I have the opportunity and inspiration, though.

JC – What kinds of books, stories, and authors inspire you?

WC - Writers like Isaac Asinov, Orson Scott Card, and others inspire me. Stories that look deeper than superficial aspects of society, generally, regardless of the genre. For example, I like To Kill a Mockingbird just as much as Ender's Game.

JC – Your story, “Assassination in the Arcology,” has the feel of a murder mystery. Where did you get your ideas for the characters and the plot?

WC - The characters...I have no idea, really. They just happened as I started writing. I'd been reading a lot of mystery stuff recently, so that probably inspired the detective main character, and most of the plot. The setting was mostly inspired by the novel Red Mars.

JC – What are some things you learned from your first experience with professional editors and an independent publisher?

WC - Editing with someone who's paid to do it is harder than just looking over your own work. But it brings out a much more polished result. So it's worth it! And exciting! Makes me more eager to finish other projects and try to get them published, as well.

William Cureton is a junior in high school and has been writing on and off for a few years. His main interests, both in reading and writing, are with fantasy and science fiction. This is his first story accepted into publication.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page