top of page

Author Interview with Daniel Marcus


JC – Have you found your skills in programming helpful in organizing your thoughts for writing? How so?

DM - My background in programming has helped in a couple of ways. First, whenever you're writing code, you have to be very aware of what you do, what the affect will be, and how it affect the state of the application. The same is true in writing. Whenever you write an event, you need to be aware of how it affects the story and the trajectory of the story arc. When I'm writing science fiction, it also helps by giving me a well grounded idea of how technology works, what is possible, and how.

JC – What are some of your hobbies or interests?

DM - When I'm not working or writing, I enjoy being away from the computer. I like visiting new places, camping, cooking, reading, and searching out new venues like local breweries to visit with my friends.

JC – When you want to write a story, do you write an outline or just start writing? Do you have a routine or write whenever and wherever you happen to be at the time?

DM - My stories start with a general idea or theme. For Growing Skyline, I wanted to investigate how interpersonal interactions can be as much of a danger as anything else during colonization. Then, I try to create my characters and environment, creating a situation that I know will bring the theme to light. Once I get a sequence of events that forms a story I like, I'll flesh it out in an outline, and then begin writing.

JC – What books, stories, and authors inspire you?

DM - Most of my inspiration comes from Isaac Asimov. I love how his stories are so well thought out, yet so easy to read and enjoy. I also like the humor that Jim Butcher infuses into his characters and how they interact.

JC – Your story, “Growing Skyline,” is about new opportunities and innovation. Would you go to Mars if given the opportunity?

DM - I would love the opportunity to go to Mars, but I think it's important that the first round of people that go are better prepared than I would be. Once they're ready for a developer or writer, I would jump at the opportunity though!

JC – Do you have any advice for writers wanting to get published?

DM - Don't be afraid to try. Write what you know, what you would love to read, and just send it! It doesn't have to be perfect, because it never will be. Friends, family, and editors will help you make it better. If you never let the story leave your imagination or your keyboard, it won't go anywhere.

Daniel Marcus is a mobile application developer and science fiction enthusiast from North Carolina. He’s Jewish, vegetarian, loves locally brewed beer, and has a passion for open source software.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page