top of page

Author Interview: Scott Chaddon

JC – You have quite a few artistic hobbies. How did you get started as an artist?

SC - I was diagnosed with life threatening athsma when I was two. Being unable to be as active as other children I started reading and among the things I read were comic books. The artwork impressed me and I taught myself how to draw using it as an example. Ultimately I learned most art forms, majored in art in college and minored in theatre.

JC – What was your inspiration to start writing?

SC - In addition to reading I started playing Dungeons and Dragons. This was an excellent exercise for the imagination. When I began running the games I had to create scenarios and story lines. Additionally my paternal grandfather was a short story writer, though I don't think any of his work was published.

JC – Do you need a routine, a title, an idea, or an outline to begin writing or do you just start writing? Where do your ideas come from?

SC - Most of my ideas occur to me spontaneously. When I am working on something physically monotonous and mentally simple my mind explores abstract ideas about science, fantasy, alternate realities, psionics, philosophy, etc. I draw my ideas from these mental wanderings.

JC – What kinds of books, stories, and authors inspire you?

SC - My biggest inspirational authors have been JRR Tolkien, Anne McCaffrey, R A Salvatore, Issac Asimov, Robert Asprin, Piers Anthony, Edgar Allen Poe, Stephen King, Jim Butcher, and many many more. I am extremely well read.

JC – In your story, you chose to make your primary character a female. What prompted that decision?

SC - I frequently use a variety of differences in character ages, genders and races (some aren't even human). I am a firm believer and supporter of equality in all things; gender, color, religion, background... none of it should have any bearing on a person's career or how they are regarded by others. So, I apply that ideology to my writing and I also like to change things up and challenge my own perspective.

JC – Do you have any advice for writers wanting to get published?

SC - My first advice to any writer is to do alot of reading. Pay attention to the writing styles of successful authors and write in a way that entertains you when you read your own work. My second piece of advise is to rewrite, rewrite, rewrite. Refine it, polish it and read it out loud. Anything that doesn't read smoothly needs polishing. Be happy with your own finished work and never stop writing.

____

Scott Chaddon was born and raised in Fairbanks, Alaska. He attended the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, earning a Bachelor’s Degree in Art with a Minor in Theatre. As an artist, he paints, draws, sculpts, does wood work, metal work and photography and has had gallery showings in Fairbanks. He has an active imagination and a broad creative streak. Recently, at the encouragement of his wife, he began submitting his stories for publication and has had several that were accepted and well received. Scott presently lives with his wife of seven years in central Missouri.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page